Con Life

Where The Dark Knights Returned

I hope y’all had a great extended weekend! I had a surprisingly relaxing Friday followed by a busy, but fun and eventful, Saturday and Sunday. And here we are, back to the grind on Monday. If you’re anything like me, the day back at work after any time off is the hardest. That said, I’ve got a hell of a pre-production Monday. I’ve got dates on the calendar to record Single Player and to edit the episodes of Everything is Awesome I’ve been sitting on FOREVER. The The Muppet Show Show is a bit harder—I need to really nail down what that 30-45 minutes is going to look like per episode and then re-budget the show. My previous budget was undervaluing myself, but more importantly my guests and writers.

The Web

Before we get to the meat of this newsletter, I wanted to offer a quick update on our web presence. I’ve been working on both the Starbird Media, LLC site and my personal site simultaneously. More than likely, they’ll both be ready at the same time. Why is that important? Well, I’ll be balancing what I post here and on my personal blog—my personal blog needs to be more than just promos. What that means, I’m not 100% sure yet. Whatever it is, I’m going to do my best to ensure that this has value to you! In fact, if you can leave a comment and let me know what you would find beneficial within the pages of this newsletter vs. on a personal blog, it would help in shaping the future of this newsletter!

Fan Expo Philadelphia

I’ve missed going to cons! And this was the first one where I was invited to a press meeting and great! Now, I had no idea what to expect (except for the free drink and potentially seeing Brian O’Halloran). Jen couldn’t make it as my +1 (something about the kids 🤷‍♂️), so I ended up going on my own. I also wasn’t sure what time I could get there, so I didn’t book time with Brian—I got there, on my own, around 7:15 or so. And boy, it was like high school all over again. Everyone seemed to hang with who they came with, but maybe I need to be better at socializing?

Now, the con itself was more or less back in the full swing of things. It is a bit disappointing that since Philadelphia wasn’t enforcing any measures against COVID-19, the con wasn’t either. People were about 50/50 on mask-wearing, which sounds about right for the area. The show flow is really the only spot where it felt a bit uneasy with the number of people and how tight everything was. The halls and theaters were fine as there were so many events, and none of the rooms were overpacked.

Our first panel, Dark Knights of the Roundtable: The Multiverse was great! I believe I did get that one recorded, so I hope to share it with y’all soon. Speaking with Chris from Sci-Fi Explosion and Bill from Comic Book Bears was extremely satisfying. Both were way more qualified at speaking on comics and the multiverse than I and I think we imparted some great stuff about Marvel and DC’s multiverse. The second panel, Dark Knights of the Roundtable: ViewAskew was just as good. Unfortunately, my Zoom H6 died (functionally, it wouldn’t power up via batteries or a plug) and I wasn’t able to record this one. Which is fine, it makes it special for those in the room! We had a very engaging audience and talked with Dan (Scully, who I honestly need to talk with more; he’s such a god damn delight) and STARFACEKILLER, who you’ve seen part of my world normally billed as BK Mullen.

Next week I should have some juicy updates about the next step for T-Shirts!

This newsletter was brought to you by Lethal Keystrokes!

Recently featured on That’s Entertainment, Lethal Keystrokes is a gripping story of revenge seekers and those who try to keep America safe by John D. May. Read it today on Amazon!