Goodbye 2021, Hello 2022

But, you still gotta wear that mask.

If you celebrated this weekend, I hope you had a great Christmas! If you celebrate another holiday during the Winter, I hope you had/are having/will have a great time celebrating. For my family, we celebrate Christmas. We were really looking forward to celebrating in person this year (like most of you, last year we held a virtual Christmas); however, due to several family members on both sides feeling under the weather, we had to postpone extended family celebrations. While it’s not ideal, I’d rather see family in a couple of weeks vs. do another virtual Christmas.

That said, Jen got me some very wonderful gifts that I can’t wait to dig into (and likely write about either here or on That’s Entertainment. Namely Kevin Smith’s Secret Stash and Will.

The House

I knew I would be posting something today, so we took last week off from the Newsletter. Which was much needed after the prior week of stress. It came down to the wire, but we officially sold our house and are now awaiting the settlement date for the new house. Hopefully, things don’t get as stressful with that. And while I haven’t been thinking too much about what we can do with the new space, I have been looking at some pieces of furniture to get a space for Starbird Media going. There’s a nice area in the house I’ll likely be able to use for at least making shirts and other items. With luck, I’ll be able to use that area for podcasting too… speaking of which…

Podcasts

The The Muppet Show Show

I can officially say that I’m officially going into production on that show. We’ll likely go to air in February or March, as I want to get a month or two ahead in my recordings, but this week I sit down to record Episode 0 with who I’m calling the executive producer. I’m not quite ready to announce the guestlist for Season 1, so if you know… you know! I’ll be scheduling more recordings throughout the next few weeks while jumping head first into several viewings of each episode of The Muppet Show Season 1.

Single Player

Yes, I’m still planning on doing this! While I hit some major roadblocks in 2021, 2022 actually looks really good for recording. Definitely, something like this, where I just need me, I foresee being able to hit the road running in late January and releasing by the end of March (again, I want to get ahead by a month or so with these). I’ll be recording an additional bonus episode using Session Zero: World Builder Edition and starting Episode 1 from scratch, using Anyone Can Wear the Mask. From there, I’ve got an amazing lineup of games for Season 1 from an equally amazing lineup of designers. As we get closer to that release, I’ll reveal more!

Others

A part of me wants to do more with Everything is Awesome again. For the first few months of 2022 (after I get settled into our new house), I plan on getting any backlog episodes we haven’t posted yet up on the feed. After that? I’ve got some ideas. Though, I also have the CRAZY idea of bringing back another old podcast of mine. There is a project I’m going to be working on this year that requires me to rewatch Once Upon a Time and the idea of not podcasting about it seems silly to me. I’ve got some people to talk about it with before I officially make the decision, but it could be on the horizon.

Starbird Media Update

While I said that the rest of 2021 could be quiet for the company, we did have two decent size orders come in for t-shirts. If anything, it just makes the idea of moving forward with that part of the business even more appealing. I’ve got some more things to do on that front before I can start hitting certain goals for this part of SBM, namely testing out other technologies for getting designs on the shirts and getting our website up and running. I do anticipate starting to get into the full swing of selling t-shirts by February though, so there is much work to be done!

Before We Part Ways

This week’s newsletter is brought to you in part by The Bastard Son, a film by Michele Plunkett. A fatherless man from the wrong side of town. Unable to reap the benefits of a functional family or education, he turns to a life of crime to help his family level the playing field of life. The film was recently featured on That’s Entertainment and you can read more about it and the film’s director there.