Home Sweet Home

It's been a busy month!

Hey there, how’s it going?

Since I last wrote y’all, the last few weeks have been busy. Between it being one of the few times a year the day gig is overwhelmingly busy and getting ready for (and actually going to) settlement for the new house, I’ve had very little time for writing/podcasts/creative being. Once we had the house, I had to turn my attention to getting utilities moved over to our name, getting our storage unit delivered, and getting it painted. While that’s all done and we’re living/sleeping there; we’re far from moved in. All the boxes are in the house, the mattresses (F#CK, moving a king mattress upstairs was an awful experience), and minor furniture. I’ve got bed frames, recliners, and sofa’s left to get in the house, all while needing to unpack and find room for everything.

Oh… and there’s a medium-size truck worth of stuff split between both our parents’ houses.

The Horizon

I’ve got a shirt order that I’m going to be working on this week, but in reality, there are about five things that I am going to be pushing forward with over the next few weeks/months. In no particular order:

  • The The Muppet Show Show: I’ve actually already recorded an Episode 0 for this! I’ll be reaching out to folks early next week to start scheduling times to record. I’m thinking March with plans to start releasing episodes in April. I’ll miss the Q1 release on this, but better late than never! However, I may have some VERY cool news to share about this show in the next few weeks.

  • Single Player: Needing to get the new house in order has really delayed both podcasts, my writing, and site design. That said, I’m hoping to start recording new episodes of SP in a week or two with plans to release them by the end of March (just squeaking in Q1). Here’s a sneak peek of some of the games I’ll be playing in Season 1 (I don’t have the complete list in front of me; otherwise I’d share the whole season!):

  • Writing: I’ve fallen behind on this BIG TIME because of the move. I’ve got a few things I’d like to wrap up for Bam Smack Pow, but I have a few things I’d like to get rolling with by the end of the month:

    • Bam Smack Pow: I’d like to get to a place where I’m writing 1-2 articles a week for them. As I do, I may feature pieces I’m particularly proud of with y’all (like this piece I did about Jennifer Aniston)

    • That’s Entertainment: There was a time that I was going to have a section of Starbird Media’s site be an entertainment news site, but Mike and I talked, and it kind of just makes sense I head up that type of writing for TE. That said, I’d like to write more reviews (TV, Film, and Comics) and touch on some news that interests me. Hopefully, doing so will allow us to also bring in some other writers!

    • SCI-FI NOVEL: More like a universe! This is actually related to Single Player, as that is assisting in fleshing out the world/galaxy I’m building. The book will take place in that same universe, though mainly on a different planet, and is an adaptation of the story I wrote (and never published) for Tellest. If I’m being honest, in 2022, I’m hoping to have this book written and published with more on the way for Phase 1a.

    • SCRIPT: I likely won’t have written and filmed my first move in my 37th year, but I did have a third kid, bought a new house, and survived year 2 of a pandemic. That said, I’m hoping to have this written and be in pre-production by the end of the year.

  • T-Shirts/Site: While I was writing this, I received a quote request for FIVE HUNDRED shirts… so, uh, cool! Hopefully, that pans out, but in the meantime, I plan to get together some designs for St. Patrick’s Day, as well as some general designs, and put together a small storefront. I’d like to get to the point of selling 25 shirts a month by the end of the year. While I may bite the bullet and start on Facebook, I am planning a site for Starbird Media, which would house podcasts and the storefront.Part of the process for getting a t-shirt business up and running is figuring out how to license art and such. Mike and I may be teaming up together to test run what something like that would look like. I want to be able to provide high-quality shirts that don’t break the bank for the customer but also reward both me and the artist. What does that look like? I have ideas that I’m not quite ready to share yet.The dream? License the work of podcasts to create shirts for. Whether it’s existing artwork they may have already, something I cook up, or something I commission artists for, we’d create the shirts for those podcasts and the podcaster gets a cut of the sales (hopefully more than they’d get elsewhere).Do you have a show (or brand/world) you’d like to start selling shirts for? Looking to change t-shirt vendors? Contact me today!E-mail MeSpeaking of comissioning artwork, the painter who painted our house not only did a wonderful job, but does sick custom work too! I’m hoping to work with him as part of a test run along with Mike (and maybe YOU, if you clicked E-mail Me above) to see how our t-shirt program would work. I wasn’t asked to do this at all; this is just someone who I think you should look at if you need a painter (or a custom paint job). Check out Sparks Custom Painting! LOOK AT THE PICTURES… Shaheem made a custom Milliennum Falcon!

  • Co-Working/TTRPG Studio Space: To be honest… I wrote about a paragraph or two on this one, but then realized I’m literally about to start having meetings about this. I’ll talk about this more when I can, but know that this is something that has been on my mind for a few years and I think, regardless of my involvement, will be something we see in the future for the Philly area.

THAT WAS A LONG ONE. I’m going to get back to some regular updates here and hopefully, that’ll help keep these from going on and on. Needless to say, I’m pretty excited about what’s going on in my life—personally, professionally, and creatively.