Progress Feels Good

Walking with Writers is Right on (New) Schedule

Happy Monday folks. Just a quick one today as I should have some awesome previews for you later in the week. (I was also trying to get this out on Friday, but LIFE). While I’m a bit behind on some writing projects (my wife and I recently discussed that I may have some undiagnosed ADD based on various symptoms that are starting to add up), but other departments have had some decent movement.

Art

While I’m not ready to commission art on the level that my best friend over at Tellest, Mike DeAngelo, is; I have been looking at different artists that I’d like to use down the road. At the same time, I’ve been looking at various AI art programs. I KNOW, I KNOW. And I don’t think these programs can actually replace artists—I can’t get exactly what I’m looking for because requesting revisions isn’t inherently easy. That said, I think there is a world where it’s a great tool to provide reference pictures to artists.

Red Pandas have become one of my favorite animals over the last 6 years or so. And I wanted to see what they’d look like as an alien—while I’m not sure I’d use the above samples in anything professionally, I do think they make great reference photos. Now, in this specific example, actual red pandas are reference photos enough, but I think you get the gist.

Walking with Writers

Once Mike and I talked about nixing the video portion of this podcast, progress improved ten-fold. We’ll need a team for this show (or any show we do) to incorporate edited video, but with audio only, I’m happy to report we’re already two episodes scheduled for release. In a few days, I’m hoping to share some of that with you, the Substack audience before it debuts on 9/7/22.

We’ve got 4 episodes recorded and are in the process of scheduling (or rescheduling) another 3 or 4 guests. That said, we still need a bunch of folks to fill out Season 1 of the show! I’ve got a few names I’m going to ask myself, but if you’re a writer, you know a writer, or have a favorite writer you’d like to hear on the show, LET ME KNOW. Feel free to email [email protected] or DM me on Twitter @ThatNerdyKev.

This week’s newsletter is brought to you in part by Annihilation: A Minecraft Game.

Recently featured on That’s Entertainment, Annihilation is a Minecraft game from Shotbow Network. This team-based PvP game delivers INTENSE action. Learn more and play today! Don’t miss their gold rank giveaway on Twitter!