Re-entering the World

More Than I Already Have

So, writing has been hit or miss for me lately! While we’re making great progress with unpacking—the living room is almost done (save for decorating and getting a new sectional). I expect to finish that tonight or tomorrow with a BIG basement run happening tomorrow to get everything downstairs, but the family room, done-ish. That said, I ran into some car trouble which has been taking much longer to get fixed than I would have liked to—lessons learned I suppose. I’m hoping to get fully caught up on reviews and blogs NEXT week. Why not this week? Time for the meat of today’s newsletter!

Fan Expo Philadelphia

What was once Wizard World Philadelphia is now known as Fan Expo Philadelphia. It’s a con I’ve been going to pretty steadily since 2016 or 2017. My last event of any kind was in 2019—2020 shut most things down and anything that came about in 2021 I wasn’t ready to attend. Truth be told, I wasn’t even sure about this year, or at least this early in the year. I even applied a day late for some panels. Turns out, they got accepted! And while I’m going to miss having some folks who normally come out to these things with me, I must admit it feels exciting to come out and talk with folks who enjoy the same dopey things I do! Fan Expo Philadelphia is THIS WEEKEND, April 8-10 at the Pennsylvania Convention Center. My first panel will be Saturday, April 9th at 4:00 PM

Dark Knights of the Roundtable: The Multiverse

The Multiverse era is here! The golden age of comic book movies saw the rise of our favorite superheroes on the big screen in disconnected films. Then came the MCU and the rise of cinematic universes that saw our new favorite superheroes living in an interconnected world. And now, the walls of reality have cracked and the multiverse has been born! Panelists discuss what this means for the future of comic book movies and what they hope to see come from the multiverse of their favorite heroes.

Panelists Include:Kevin M. Gallagher, JrKev, known on the internets as @ThatNerdyKev, is best known for his work in Philadelphia Podcasting, including Everything is Awesome. When not talking about comic book movies, Batman, and Kevin Smith, he is spending his time at home with his lovely wife and three kids.

Chris CumminsChris is the producer/host of Sci-Fi Explosion, Nerd Nite Philly, and a Comics Historian.

Bill ZanowitzBill is one of the hosts of Comic Book Bears, a comic book-based podcast with a couple of bears growling about what they are reading and enjoying. He’s also the writer/creator of The Crime Fighter Inquiry.

This newsletter is brought to you in part by Natasha’s Prison.

Recently featured on That’s Entertainment, Natasha’s Prison is Stefan Stevens's romance fantasy novel. During the early years of Harry and Natasha’s relationship, the bond of the twin flames grew stronger. The two were inseparable and conquered all of their dreams and challenges as a team. Available April 11, 2022, you can pre-order the novel on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Apple Books, and other retailers!

Dark Knights of the Roundtable: ViewAskew

I'm not even supposed to be here today! Wait, that's not right. We're totally supposed to be here today! As we approach 28 years since the first Clerks film was released, we also (not so) patiently await the release of Kevin Smith's Clerks 3 this year. Panelists discuss (nearly) 28 years of Kevin Smith films.

Panelists Include:Kevin M. Gallagher, JrKev, known on the internets as @ThatNerdyKev, is best known for his work in Philadelphia Podcasting, including Everything is Awesome. When not talking about comic book movies, Batman, and Kevin Smith, he is spending his time at home with his lovely wife and three kids.

Dan ScullyDan hosts the film podcast I Like 2 Movie Movie, Hot Property, and is a writer for MovieJawn and Phindie.

STARKILLERFACEStarKillerFace is a Philadelphia-based writer, photographer, and podcaster. After the birth of his daughter, he began blogging about being a dad and started the podcast Pop Bottle Dads.

Once again, I’ll be missing some of my regulars panelists this year, but I feel very grateful to be in a position where I feel comfortable going out there to get my hustle on and that I have to opportunity to chat with some new folks who share the same passions as me. I may even have more appearances coming up! While I get my website redesigned, the best place to find out about these events is right here, in this very newsletter!

That about does it for this week! Unless something major happens, I’ll check in with you next week after the con to tell y’all about con life in a COVID world!