We're Here!

Well, officially.

Let’s Go!

I’ve been holding off on officially launching anything with the Starbird Media name as I was waiting for the LLC paperwork to complete (it would have sucked to start building the brand and then be told NOPE, NOPE, NOPE). I knew it could take a while, but I was still checking DAILY on the status. I was expecting the end of the year, and then BOOM… a few days ago I saw a message pop in that we’re good to go.

So, uh, I guess I’m a business owner now! I’m still getting SO MUCH in order for it: the site, merchandise, podcasts, this newsletter, and a variety of other things. But I’m very excited to take what I’ve been doing for the last 14-15 years and move it into a professional space.

What Does This Mean?

I’ve been thinking about what I wanted to do once the LLC was official. Obviously, I’d like to take everything to the next level, but just because I have an LLC doesn’t mean more money is pouring in. If anything, less and I’m spending more! But I have a few things on my mind about it:

  • While the creative aspects are the passion of Starbird Media, it’s the sudden uptick in T-Shirts I’ve been making for people. There’s a big expense that comes with that, but since it was small compared to my day job, I lost all benefits of making and selling a product. I plan on putting a bigger focus on this part of Starbird Media—it’ll likely be the biggest source of income for the business. And while I’ll still do custom stuff, I have an arsenal of non-IP-related designs that I plan on either making a set quantity of or making available on demand.

  • But what about IP-related stuff? And I’m not talking about Marvel or DC—they make bank on their own shirts or other companies that license their IP. I see this as an opportunity to work with friends and other independent creators to bring their IP to life. How will that work exactly? I’m not sure! But I’ll be damned if having an LLC doesn’t allow me to legally sell Cornst shirts and have it benefit All My Fantasy Children’s Jeff Stormer and Aaron Catano-Saez!

  • I’ve been podcasting for a long time. I can’t imagine a world where having an LLC suddenly makes these passion projects turn a profit. However, I do see a world where I can now seek out professionally made assets for these projects, which in turn should make them more appealing for listeners. And that’s the end game! More ears on the stuff I make.

  • The dream for the last decade or so has been to make a movie. Once again, Starbird Media doesn’t magically make that happen, but it should make it easier to get balls rolling.

Why a Newsletter?

It feels like this will be a nice space to share what’s on my mind with y’all. When I relaunch my personal website, it’ll likely be more of a resume than anything else. I can share my reviews on That’s Entertainment thanks to a new partnership Mike and I have with that. I can write news for Bam Smack Pow and anything that they may not want to report on I can either bring to TE or elsewhere (though, I do have some burned bridges that I still need to atone for; not to get my gig back or anything, but to simply make good). But these thoughts and other fun things? I love the idea of a newsletter and Substack seems to be doing interesting things. Hopefully, y’all subscribe… let’s build a community!

Before We Part Ways

We recently featured The Light Within by King Kerp on That’s Entertainment. King Kerp’s new 13-track rap album expresses purity, enlightenment, and spiritual awakening. You can listen now on Spotify or any streaming platform you prefer.